Tuesday, April 28, 2009

Eye Guey

Sorry, the Mexican in me demanded that title. So my eye is still annoying me. The infection is gone, and the weird bump along with it. I walked around for one week with my glasses, and had to avoid the pool altogether as well.

Stupid eye. I curse it! I even went to Vegas with my glasses on! Partied at the Palms and the Wynn...in mah glasses! I'll show you pictures if you want.

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Frustration

As the semester winds down, I'm looking back at my 30 lap swim, and assessing how well/terribly I did. On one hand, I actually got into the pool (which was something I would not have done without the added incentive of school work). On the other hand, I ended up not being able to do 30 laps. I'm at 20 right now, and I get out gasping for air. It is really tough!!

Right now, I'm dealing with yet another eye infection. I don't know what is going on, but this semester has really been kicking health in the gutter! I feel like all my eye woes are stemming from the pool, but I can't give it up just yet!! So this week, I'm sad to say, I've only gone once before the eye problems came back in full force.

SO hopefully, this eye thing clears up by the end of the week, and I can continue my lap swimming. Also, I'm going to LAS VEGAS this weekend, and refuse to go to a club in glasses. Been there, done that, it was not fun. And also. I hate driving in my glasses. Or just living in general in my glasses! Random story: I went to Wal-Mart today to buy groceries (in my glasses) and ran into my Grandpa! Too bad I didn't even recognize him from far away! My eyesight is worse than an 86 year old mans. So sad.

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Tough week

I've had some rough family stuff go down this week. I can't remember if I've stated it here, but I live with my Grandpa Sundays through Thursdays, going back to my parents house on Friday and Saturday nights. My Grandpa is 86 and super super stubborn, and also clinically depressed. He's a diabetic, has heart disease, and arthritis. He still drives, despite not having a drivers license. He eats a load of crap (I'm not joking, I've found bags of chicken wings from the Mexican market down the street), despite being a diabetic. And last week while I was in class on Wednesday, my aunt noticed he had these really hideous ulcerated wounds on his legs.

Well, she made an appointment for him for the doctor for Thursday morning, which I took him to since he can't speak English. He had friggin gangrene on his toe. I was so furious, furious with myself for not realizing that disgusting smell coming from his room was in fact a gangrene toe, furious with him for not telling us his damned toe was black, and furious at my aunts and uncles, his kids, for not giving a damn and checking up on their father.

Needles to say, I didn't get to the pool much while taking care of my Grandpa. Or, at all for that matter. I did go hiking Thursday afternoon to blow off steam, and ran yesterday. Then I stepped on some glass when I got back to my Grandpa's house, because he dropped a glass and wasn't aware there was still glass on the floor.

Stressful week!!!

Sunday, April 5, 2009

Seal Beach 5k

So Mom and I did the Seal Beach 5k Saturday. It was fun! I was hoping we'd be closer along the beach, like right up on the beach sidewalk, but I guess one block away is good enough. There were a good amount of people, probably around 1,000 or so. Lots of people with their super cute dogs. I don't think I've ever mentioned it here, but my Mom has this pug that she absolutely adores. No joke, our pug is 5 years old, and has been on his death bed twice, and Mom treats him like one of her children. We call him our brother, since it's just me and my sister, and we've never had a brother. He's also diabetic, and has to receive insulin shots twice a day. Like I said...like one of the family. Anyways, we were all excited to be surrounded by so many doggies.

Went to swim twice so far this week. Still can barely get to 15 each time, and I have to really push myself to get to 20. I have never done anything so physically difficult in my life. But it's totally worth it. Lost 2 lbs this week! Though, I think that might be from also not eating out this week as funds are dwindling as of late.

This week is our presentation! I'm really excited to share Ballet Folklorico with the class, and have a surprise or two for you all!

Tuesday, March 31, 2009

Update and some websites

I cannot believe we are already at week 12 (13?) of Spring semester! Jeez, time flies when you're having fun! And on that note, swimming has been ultra tough these past few weeks! I went to the wayside during Spring Break, and am totally paying for it now. Even 15 laps is tough. But at least that's 1/2 way to 30!

And in other fitness news, I'm going to be doing the Seal Beach 5/10k Run/Walk with my Mom. We're both looking forward to it! I hope it's not too cold. We went to the beach on Sunday afternoon, and it was FREEZING! My mom wanted to go to walk along the beach, and I took my reader to get some homework done, thinking it would be so nice to sit on the beach and listen to the waves while doing my homework. We took my 14 yr old and 21 yr old sisters too. My 14yr old sister and I sat and did homeworks while Mom and my other sister walked. Man, 20 min into our homework session, we were dying. We went back to the car, where I fell asleep like an old lady.

Here are a few websites I'm loving right now:
http://thisiswhyyourefat.com/
http://www.foodporn.com/index.html
http://www.mothernature.com/Library/Bookshelf/Books/43/39.cfm (yes, I realize this is aimed towards men...so what?)

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Spring break fail

Well, just a quick update before class tomorrow. I am ashamed to say, I did not go in the pool once this Spring Break! I instead did random things like go to Disneyland, take my Grandpa to the Indian Casinos, Hung out with friends I hadn't seen in forever, and went Outlet shopping. I did go t the gym a few times, but never to swim, just to run. So it wasn't a total Spring Break fail...just swimming laps fail!

I do have a funny story though, from before Spring Break. I went to the Y to swim the evening after our midterm, and since I've been getting that gross red eye from sensitivity to chlorine, I decided to go in my glasses. I am literally BLIND (-6 and -6.50) without my glasses or contacts in, but thought the pool wouldn't be too packed. So I walk into the pool area, and everything is super super blurry. I walk up the one of the lanes, and I see a person just hanging out waiting for the lane, and I could see a blurry blob in the same lane next to them. I ask them "Oh, are you going to be using this lane for a while" and the answer was some mumbly teenaged boy voice, so I walked away, because I had no idea what he said and couldn't see him anyways. I went back to the locker room to get my glasses because I figured I might be able to see a lane free if I had them with me. When I walked back into the pool, I was floored! EACH LANE HAD 3 PEOPLE IN IT DOING LAPS. The Y pool is NEVER that crowded! It grossed me out to see the pool so full of people (ya, I know, but I'm skeezy about germs), so I ended up just changing back into my work out clothes and running instead.

Moral of the story is: if you have terrible eyesight, make sure not to leave your glasses in the locker room. Or else you may not know how many people are actually in the pool before you jump in.

Monday, March 9, 2009

Quick update

So I swam twice last week, once 10 laps, the other 13. I think I should be at 15 by this week, I'll need to check my workout plan of action.

I can feel myself coming down with something. I went to Vegas this weekend, and woke up Sunday with no voice at all. I don't know if yelling at the slot machine did it or what, but I'm STILL voiceless. I sound terrible. I can barely get my voice above a whisper, and eve that gives me a headache. And now, I can feel a cold coming on. I think I'll wait to swim until whatever is ailing me passes.

And now, off to study for our midterm!