Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Spring break fail

Well, just a quick update before class tomorrow. I am ashamed to say, I did not go in the pool once this Spring Break! I instead did random things like go to Disneyland, take my Grandpa to the Indian Casinos, Hung out with friends I hadn't seen in forever, and went Outlet shopping. I did go t the gym a few times, but never to swim, just to run. So it wasn't a total Spring Break fail...just swimming laps fail!

I do have a funny story though, from before Spring Break. I went to the Y to swim the evening after our midterm, and since I've been getting that gross red eye from sensitivity to chlorine, I decided to go in my glasses. I am literally BLIND (-6 and -6.50) without my glasses or contacts in, but thought the pool wouldn't be too packed. So I walk into the pool area, and everything is super super blurry. I walk up the one of the lanes, and I see a person just hanging out waiting for the lane, and I could see a blurry blob in the same lane next to them. I ask them "Oh, are you going to be using this lane for a while" and the answer was some mumbly teenaged boy voice, so I walked away, because I had no idea what he said and couldn't see him anyways. I went back to the locker room to get my glasses because I figured I might be able to see a lane free if I had them with me. When I walked back into the pool, I was floored! EACH LANE HAD 3 PEOPLE IN IT DOING LAPS. The Y pool is NEVER that crowded! It grossed me out to see the pool so full of people (ya, I know, but I'm skeezy about germs), so I ended up just changing back into my work out clothes and running instead.

Moral of the story is: if you have terrible eyesight, make sure not to leave your glasses in the locker room. Or else you may not know how many people are actually in the pool before you jump in.

No comments:

Post a Comment