Tuesday, March 31, 2009

Update and some websites

I cannot believe we are already at week 12 (13?) of Spring semester! Jeez, time flies when you're having fun! And on that note, swimming has been ultra tough these past few weeks! I went to the wayside during Spring Break, and am totally paying for it now. Even 15 laps is tough. But at least that's 1/2 way to 30!

And in other fitness news, I'm going to be doing the Seal Beach 5/10k Run/Walk with my Mom. We're both looking forward to it! I hope it's not too cold. We went to the beach on Sunday afternoon, and it was FREEZING! My mom wanted to go to walk along the beach, and I took my reader to get some homework done, thinking it would be so nice to sit on the beach and listen to the waves while doing my homework. We took my 14 yr old and 21 yr old sisters too. My 14yr old sister and I sat and did homeworks while Mom and my other sister walked. Man, 20 min into our homework session, we were dying. We went back to the car, where I fell asleep like an old lady.

Here are a few websites I'm loving right now:
http://thisiswhyyourefat.com/
http://www.foodporn.com/index.html
http://www.mothernature.com/Library/Bookshelf/Books/43/39.cfm (yes, I realize this is aimed towards men...so what?)

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

Spring break fail

Well, just a quick update before class tomorrow. I am ashamed to say, I did not go in the pool once this Spring Break! I instead did random things like go to Disneyland, take my Grandpa to the Indian Casinos, Hung out with friends I hadn't seen in forever, and went Outlet shopping. I did go t the gym a few times, but never to swim, just to run. So it wasn't a total Spring Break fail...just swimming laps fail!

I do have a funny story though, from before Spring Break. I went to the Y to swim the evening after our midterm, and since I've been getting that gross red eye from sensitivity to chlorine, I decided to go in my glasses. I am literally BLIND (-6 and -6.50) without my glasses or contacts in, but thought the pool wouldn't be too packed. So I walk into the pool area, and everything is super super blurry. I walk up the one of the lanes, and I see a person just hanging out waiting for the lane, and I could see a blurry blob in the same lane next to them. I ask them "Oh, are you going to be using this lane for a while" and the answer was some mumbly teenaged boy voice, so I walked away, because I had no idea what he said and couldn't see him anyways. I went back to the locker room to get my glasses because I figured I might be able to see a lane free if I had them with me. When I walked back into the pool, I was floored! EACH LANE HAD 3 PEOPLE IN IT DOING LAPS. The Y pool is NEVER that crowded! It grossed me out to see the pool so full of people (ya, I know, but I'm skeezy about germs), so I ended up just changing back into my work out clothes and running instead.

Moral of the story is: if you have terrible eyesight, make sure not to leave your glasses in the locker room. Or else you may not know how many people are actually in the pool before you jump in.

Monday, March 9, 2009

Quick update

So I swam twice last week, once 10 laps, the other 13. I think I should be at 15 by this week, I'll need to check my workout plan of action.

I can feel myself coming down with something. I went to Vegas this weekend, and woke up Sunday with no voice at all. I don't know if yelling at the slot machine did it or what, but I'm STILL voiceless. I sound terrible. I can barely get my voice above a whisper, and eve that gives me a headache. And now, I can feel a cold coming on. I think I'll wait to swim until whatever is ailing me passes.

And now, off to study for our midterm!

Monday, March 2, 2009

Challenges

So my biggest challenge through these past few weeks has been to find the time to actually go to the pool! It has such weird hours, like 5:30am-7:30am, 8:30am-10:30am, and then 7-9pm. And then after my whole eye debacle, I got kind of scared to actually go in the pool with my contacts in. So I really need to get over that, because it has definitely hindered my progress.

In terms of actual challenges swimming, I find breathing correctly a problem. I've had asthma since I was in 1st grade, and it's always been a challenge for me to do anything physically active. I always thought swimming was going to be this terrible curse upon me, but it's actually not that bad! I mean, granted, it's still challenging for me to time my breathing so that I feel like I'm not dying under water and can't breath, but I have definitely steadily improved since the beginning of this semester.

I've been really slacking off this week, and haven't even headed to the pool once since last Wednesday. I'm planning to go tonight, when the pool opens at 7:30pm.